Late Night Sketching

Last night Nicole, Michelle and I arrived in Ortaköy around 8pm and found that the natural light had faded, but the lights on the mosque were just lighting up.  We sat down in the busy courtyard, ordered three çaylar and a baked potato while we got out our drawing materials.  I gave Nicole and Michelle a short lesson on ink and guache and loaned them my materials while Nicole let me use her markers.  It was very interesting to draw the mosque as the sky grew darker and darker and I found the drafting markers to work in a similar way to watercolor.  We had a great time discussing history, movies and books while we worked and ate and drank our tea.  I love Istanbul nights, and Istanbul neighborhoods like Ortaköy, and I love having new friends to draw with!  You can see Nicole and Michelle’s drawings on their blog about Istanbul…http://mandntakeistanbul.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

