Prospectivo

Some excellent examples of one-point perspective, both real and implied.  I feel myself recalling drawing one lectures…Raphael’s Fresco in the Vatican Museum.  Borromini’s “prospectivo” in the Spada Gallery.   This may look like an actual hallway, but in reality it is only 10 yards long, with everything diminishing in size as it goes back to create an optical illusion.  I wanted to take a picture of myself in the structure to illustrate the effect but I wasn’t allowed to even get a photo of the thing.  So, I took a picture from outside of the gallery.The San Carlino Church by Borromini.  Here he designed the coffers to diminish in size to create the same illusion.

Leave a Reply

