Departure

A thousand half-loves

must be forsaken to take

one whole heart home.

Let the lover be disgraceful, crazy,

absentminded.  Someone sober

will worry about things going badly.

Let the lover be.

Lovers don’t finally

meet somewhere.

They’re in each other all along.

-Rumi

Though I am home now, my body still resonates with Istanbul.  In a way, I feel as though my heart will always be there.  In another way, the warmth and comfort of home is intoxicating.  I know I will return, someday, to the chaos and stimulation of that city.  There is something magic that lives there, something that cannot be found anywhere else.  Farewell Istanbul, until we meet again…for now I will leave you with, some sketches.

One thought on “Departure

Leave a Reply

