Flying

While in Chicago I decided to take a flying trapeze class.  I have some limited experience with ariel arts from my time in Istanbul, but I never imagined myself flying through the air like I did the other night.  As soon as I saw the long ladder, the net and people flipping off the trapeze, I felt a lack of trust in myself and my ability to conquer a never ending fear of heights.   But once I was chalked up and holding that bar I knew there was no going back, and my feet left the platform.  What an incredible feeling of triumph and freedom.  My confidence rushed back as I regained trust in my body and the people supporting and catching me.  I think I might have found a new love.

Leave a Reply

