By the Sea

I can never shake the uncontrollable urge to travel.  I just spent a month of intensive work in the studio, and after painting for 8 hours a day, I had no desire to get out and draw.  Traveling, drawing, writing and getting new energy from unexplored places is vital to my life as an artist.  So…I booked a one way ticket, packed a bag and found myself here, on the northern coast of California.  The sea is beautiful, and the sound of the gulls reminds me of Istanbul.  I realized today, as I perched on a rock with my sketchbook, how much I miss being so close to the water.  I am usually not interested in drawing landscape, unless it involves figures or buildings, but the rocks jutting out of the water in this cover were enticing, and I was very happy with my little drawing.

Leave a Reply

