Self Portraits

I don’t think I’ve done a self portrait since high school, but last last year, I began experimenting with drawing my features in a sketchbook.  Perched in front of a mirror in my Istanbul apartment, on many cold nights, I sat drawing my image.  Mostly because I was obsessed with drawing, and had no internet, but also because I wanted to explore the idea of self identity.  In my current body of work, I have completed several self portraits in various forms and mediums, reflecting on the my year in Istanbul.

Before I left for Turkey, I was sure of myself, and my identity.  However, during my time abroad, I found, with astonishment, that my identity began to shift.  This was a time in my life when I was thrown out of the comforts of home and into a foreign culture, where I experienced emotional and bureaucratic difficulties.  I was no longer myself in the context of home, but someone who must acclimate to a society with peculiar ideals and practices.  Below are a few examples of self portraits that I will be exhibiting.  In future work, as I have more experience in travel and foreign cultures, I will continue explore the effect of place on identity and sense of self.

IMG_6409

“Self Portrait in Istanbul” 18″x24″ Oil on Panel

IMG_6386

“Self Portrait with Language” 7″x5″ Mixed Media on Panel

IMG_6068

“Self Portrait in Viel” 12″x8″ Mixed Media on Paper

 

2 thoughts on “Self Portraits

Leave a Reply

