Eski Cami

I spent 2 days drawing in the Eski Cami, as I called it.  An archaic mosque tucked away in Ibrahimpaşa, and hidden behind a locked door.  No one seemed to know or agree on how old the mosque is, whether it had always been a mosque, and why it is no longer in use, but it is evident when stepping into the place that it carries a great deal of history.  I was compelled by the striking colors of the mihrab and minbar, making great contrast against the whitewashed stone walls.

Working in this still, serene and beautiful space gave me a feeling of incredible clarity.  Drawing, for me, is the best form of meditation.  I feel completely present, aware…my cares of the past and future dissolve into the air.

IMG_1334

“Eski Cami” Mixed Media on Paper, 2013

IMG_1162 IMG_1163 IMG_1164 IMG_1166 IMG_1167 IMG_1174 IMG_1180

Leave a Reply

