More Market Sketching

I have been sketching on location now for…well for as long as I can remember really.  Though there are definite times in my life when it feels as though I am constantly drawing, there are also those times when I let it drift away for a while.  My time in Kapadokya at Babayan was a peak in this artistic cycle, and no matter where my daily activities brought me, I was constantly prepared to draw.

However beginning the process can be a bit difficult, especially in a busy Turkish marketplace.  I always feel slight anxiety as I pull out my sketchbook and pens, trying to capture the rows of color and energy of the market, while the weekly shoppers swarm around me.  As the drawing develops, my self conscious feelings slip away and I realize how endearing people find the art-making process.

I drew in almost all of the Kappadokian markets this summer, and nearly always found myself with a handful of free fruit, a crate or a pile of corn that had been offered to me as a seat, endless glasses of çay and a number of eager models.  Every time I feel slightly nervous to draw, I have to just do it, and when I am sketching anywhere in Turkey, I inevitably end up with new friends, and a satisfied appetite.

IMG_1317

“mısırcı 1” Pen and Watercolor on Paper, 2013

IMG_1325

“Avanos Market” Pen and Watercolor on Paper, 2013

IMG_1676

“Nevsehir Market” Pen and Watercolor on Paper, 2013

IMG_1762

“mısırcı 2” Graphite on Paper, 2013

IMG_1233 IMG_1236 IMG_1237 IMG_3314 IMG_1241 IMG_1245 IMG_1289 IMG_1559 IMG_1562 IMG_1670

2 thoughts on “More Market Sketching

  1. Gabbie, Gabbie I think I read your home and I have to admit I’m thankful. Looking at your pictures makes me really miss you. The last photo today with sketch by some corn was my favorite. Love Aunt Berta

    • Aunt Berta,
      I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to see your comment on my blog! Yes, I am home, back in the US! I’m glad you like the sketches, I can’t wait to show you more in person.

Leave a Reply

