Babayanlılar: The People of Babayan

As a part of my project this summer, I conducted a series of individual portraits, and Ibrahimpaşa‘s residents served as my models.  I made as many portraits as I could, and sometimes could barely keep up with all the appointments I made.  I drew the villagers at work, in their homes, drinking çay in the kahve hane (coffee house) and taking lunch breaks in the town square.

Rather than bringing models into my studio, I wanted to see and interact with them in their own element, where they where comfortable, where they are themselves.

Thank you to all of my village models, for all that you have taught me…

"Kus Mehmet" Mixed Media on Paper, 2013

“Kus Mehmet” in his shop, Mixed Media on Paper, 2013

"Dukkan" Ink and Watercolor on Paper, 2013

“Dukkan” with Kus Mehmet behind the counter, Ink and Watercolor on Paper, 2013

IMG_1314

“Mustafa ve Linda” Ink and Watercolor on Paper, 2013

IMG_1315

“Eski Mustafa” Graphite on Paper, 2013

IMG_1324

“Merve” Ink and Watercolor on Paper, 2013

IMG_1571

“serefe” Graphite on Paper, 2013

IMG_1674

“Recep” Ink on Paper, 2013

IMG_1761

“Ismet 1” Graphite on Paper, 2013

IMG_1763

“Ibrahim ve Mustafa” in the kahve hane, Mixed Media on Paper, 2013

IMG_3991

“Ismet 2” Graphite on Paper, 2013

IMG_3993

“Kadir” the kahveci, Graphite on Paper, 2013

Leave a Reply

