New Year

I was lucky enough to fly back to the US this year for Christmas and New Years.  I have only missed 1 Christmas away from my family in Wyoming, and am realizing more each year how much of a priority it is for me to be home over the holidays.  As I seem to have a new family member every year, I don’t want to miss out on catching these days of seeing their constant growth, change and discovery.

My days at home are few and precious, and with seeing these amazing changes in my family, along with having visits with inspiring friends, I can’t help but make a list of resolutions for 2015.

The other night I had dinner with my dear friends, and fellow artists Eric and Maria Wimmer.  Maria, who is a prolific blogger, recently posted her list of new years resolutions, which you can read here.  It seems only fitting that since I talked with Maria and Eric late into the night about new projects, upcoming shows and promises for the new year, that I should do the same.

That being said, here is my list for 2015:

1) Keep in touch.  With the loss of internet in my studio last fall, I fell into a silence.  Yes, I was also doing my best of staying in the present moment, but I realize how important keeping in touch is for my friends and family living far away.  So I promise to keep up on emailing as well as blog posting.

2) Complete all my projects.  Especially collaborations with friends, and push them as far as they can go.  This includes a collaborative sketchbook project, a series of articles on Istanbul Hans, a published book of travel sketches and 3 solo shows!

3) Keep up with my Turkish.  Its easy to get lazy about this one.  Even though I am living in Turkey, I am often surrounded by English speaking friends and too often succumb to the comfort of my native tongue.  This year I will continue with my private lessons, try out duolingo.com, which just added Turkish, perhaps take a month long intensive course, and just speak more often.

4) Continue with my consistent art making process, push forward with more discipline and diligence, even in those times when it is difficult to make anything.

5) Don’t loose the dedication to my yoga practice, keep connecting to that inner child and have the natural confidence that comes with letting go of our expectations from the world…just like Captain America here.

IMG_3390

2 thoughts on “New Year

  1. I chanced upon your blog when I was sending something to StumbleUpon from one of my blogs and it asked if i wanted to see any of these other posts from WoodPress. Even though I am at this minute in the middle of something I’m writing I decided to take to the time pull up your site. today, iot seems that I am reading things from new sites, to me, from people who understand what it means to have passion in their lives. They also understand that being successful with your life means that you have to have focus. since we are human we have to continually refocus because it’s easy to get sucked away. It’s also very hard to get the right kind of follower for your blog. It’s almost useless to you if you consider the little one liners who just say things like, “great blog” and nothing else that you can relate to or answer back. A reply should be some kind of feedback of some sort.

    You said you are in Turkey. A job? You mentioned wanting to learn the language and an online source you were looking at. I would love to be able to speak another language besides English. Being able to think ( most of all) in another language and understand your thoughts is so intriguing to me. I am, though, so busy with my own endeavors and know that the only way to complete these (as you mentioned in your resolutions) was to stay focused. No one can live your life but you. No one can feel your disappointments or accomplishments as anything but as something outside their own life. Good luck to you. I’ll be back.

    My 2 blogs are found at: http://mynameisjamie.net “My Name is Jamie.Life in Prison”
    http://watchandwhirl.wordpress.com “Watch and Whirl” if you’d like to take a look when you have time.

Leave a Reply

