Winter Days in Istanbul

Upon my return to Istanbul, I was greeted by a blast of cold moving in from Siberia and settling a layer of fresh snow in the city.  I was half expecting to find solace from the cold as I had just departed from the -33 degree Wyoming winter, and the mild Istanbul weather seemed like a promising relief.  I was not met with the warm sun but I was however met with love, friends, hot çay and a few adventurous days of sketching in the snow.

Emilie, a fellow sketcher, jewelry maker, coffee drinker and just great friend has been joining me since summer on drawing dates around the city.  You can read about her experiences and see her work on her blog.  Since Istanbul nearly shuts down at the sight of snow, Emilie was off work for 3 days, and we jumped at the chance to explore some new sketching spots.

Durring the entire week we drew huddled up in the Haydarpaşa Train Station with kitties keeping us warm on our laps, sat on the cold marble in Hagia Sophia, and sketched in warm hipster coffee shops with our friend Melody who is also joining us these days.  We had chance encounters, ate in newly found restaurants, planned new projects and filled up our sketchbooks.  It was as if we had extended our holidays, and stepped into a space where we could settle back into the city to rediscover all over again, what made us fall in love with it in the first place.

P1030394

Photo Credit: Emilie Varlet

 

P1030312

Photo Credit: Emilie Varlet

IMG_0020

My sketchbook in Haydarpasa Train Station

IMG_0076

My sketchbook in Gezi Park

IMG_0061

My drawing of Emilie in Karakoy

IMG_0057

Emilie’s drawing of me in Karakoy

IMG_0033

Drawing Melody and Emilie and and myself in the mirror.

IMG_0027

Emilie’s drawing of me

IMG_0030

Emilie’s drawing of Karabatak Cafe in Karakoy

IMG_0068IMG_0070IMG_0004IMG_0007 IMG_0023

One thought on “Winter Days in Istanbul

Leave a Reply

