Brown Paper Drawings

In order to get more drawing in, I have been carrying a 5×7 inch brown paper sketchbook with me everywhere.  Sometimes life in the city goes so fast and when I look up from my daily activities, I realize it has been days or perhaps weeks since I have drawn.  Although I am painting, stretching canvases or working on some project nearly everyday in my studio, drawing from life introduces a different element to my artistic practice.  While studio work is meditative, something about the call and response of sketching on location makes me feel connected and engaged in an incomparable way.

As you can see from my recent drawings, I can’t seem to get away from this brown paper.  The push and pull of black and white on top of a mid tone seems to work so well with the layers of Istanbul, and I hardly seem to be starting from an intimidatingly white page these days.

If a mere 15 minutes opens in my day, it is enough to keep up with consistent drawing.  I have found through this practice that working within the limitations of my time and materials, can often provide the most creative results.

FullSizeRender

Sketching the Asian Side from Besiktas

 

IMG_0818

A sketch and a poem in Karakoy

 

IMG_0844

Topkapi Palace on a sunny day

IMG_0958

An elaborate column from Hagia Sophia

IMG_0679

Sketching home objects in Trabzon

 

One thought on “Brown Paper Drawings

  1. “if a mere 15 minutes opens in my day, it is enough to keep up with consistent drawing. I have found through this practice that working within the limitations of my time and materials, can often provide the most creative results.”

    i agree..

Leave a Reply

